Acts #5 and #6 – showing gratitude and reaching out

Image

On my second week of 40 acts of kindness and this week is particularly interesting. Yesterday’s act was about taking the time to express gratitude to those who we might not think to thank or who’s services we take for granted e.g. postman, bus driver etc. Thus, jotting down a few words of gratitude in the form of a thank you note and giving to someone to whom you are genuinely grateful to can bring an immense feeling of appreciation and sense of worth to the person receiving the note. There is a lady in work who has been nothing but helpful to me since I arrived in Paris, helping me with the constant administration and paperwork required to do anything in this country. Although I always say thank you to her, I decided to express this in a handwritten sentiment (on a post it) and let her know how much I appreciate her help. And I think she appreciated feeling appreciated 🙂

Today’s act is about reaching out and acknowledging the influence we have on people. In your journal (created in Act #1), write a list of those people you influence…if you think you don’t influence anyone, think about those people in your phonebook who would rush to your aid in an emergency or those that would attend your wedding, graduation etc. Those people in your life that would do that are in fact influenced by you…so reach out today to those people be it via your church, school or even online realm e.g. blog (like this one!) and share a message of kindness.

x

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

2 responses to “Acts #5 and #6 – showing gratitude and reaching out

  1. Hello Huda (is that right?) I’ve come over from 40Acts to follow your blog. It’s interesting reading other peoples’ take on the 40Acts, and I must say I’ve enjoyed reading your blog too. I think one way to find followers and to get “found” when blogging is to visit other people and leave comments. You can “follow” other blogs too – often people will “follow” you back (although I always check out the blogs of my Followers – and I don’t always reciprocate…Their are some weird sites out there!!)

    Another way is to join in with a Giveaway/swop/bloghop – you have just missed a Mega Blog event with Vicki over at 2 Bags Full…but keep an eye on her blog next Nov/Dec as she often organises a “Grow Your Blog” event where people visit other people’s blogs. That’s how I have gathered a lot of my Followers on my Fat Dormouse Getting Thinner blog (fatdormouse.blogspot.com) My other blog is quite new, as I changed providers, but I find as I follow other blogs that I like, I get Followers too.

    Why are you in Paris? What job are you doing? I’d like to read more about what you’re doing there (if it’s not private, of course!)

    • Hey! (Yep, it’s Huda!) Thanks so much for your comment! I’m new to this blogging thing so advice like that is really helpful and much appreciated 🙂 Will definitely take all of the above on board!

      Btw, you’ve a great blog (the two of them actually!) Especially like the food posts as I’m a bit of a foodie (well I like food but am a debutant in the kitchen)

      I see you are living in France too? 🙂 I am in Paris working in tourism marketing, on a sort of programme but hoping to stay on once I finish my current contract. Hopefully you will get to learn more about me as I keep posting 🙂 And look forward to reading your posts esp on 40acts (well done so far!)
      H

Leave a Reply

