Papa loves Mambo

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

My earliest memories of music in our house when growing up was 90s britpop and indie. There used to be a kids channel called TCC and the song in the advert was ‘Alright’ by Supergrass. This ad used to play every morning before I’d go to school and to this day the song always brings a smile to my face. I have vague memories of Oasis, Blur and Take That, wholes songs I would have heard at the time but not actively have listened to. That only came about 10 years later when I went through this nostalgic phase where I longed to be back in the 90s. In my early teens I bought Oasis’s first four albums and a Blur greatest hits album, as well as a Take That greatest hits album. I even went to see Oasis when they played in Marlay Park about 10 years ago (I actually can’t believe it’s that long ago). That was THE best concert (also my first) that I have ever been to and I remember being on such a natural high that I was actually on a low for about a week afterwards! During my childhood, I would have listened to the radio a lot as I didn’t get a CD player until much later so I would have been more exposed to chart music and mainstream pop. Then in my early teens I went through a rebellious phase (only music wise as I was not cool enough to rebel for real) and started listening to indie music like Coldplay, Travis, Bloc Party, Futureheads and Franz Ferdinand. Then in my late teens (until now) I went through what I like to think of as my ‘Peter Pan’ phase or longing for eternal youth and referred back to boy bands, girl bands and handsome latino heart throbs (cough Enrique Iglesias). Nowadays, I am really open to any kind of music but have taken a particular liking to rap, especially French rap, which I find so unique and intriguing as French is often regarded as a refined and sensual language, and to hear it applied to rap, which is typically more rough and unrefined is a breath of fresh air. My favourite French or francophone artists are Maitre Gims, Sexion d’Assaut, La Fouine, Corneille and Stromae.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jm-OujiGYk – Sexion d’Assaut – ‘Balader’ (All I need is a smart car, some sun and a drive around Paris)

Inspired by Daily Prompt 

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

9 responses to “Papa loves Mambo

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Music | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  3. Pingback: Days Of Music Passed | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Music In My Life | 365 Days of Thank You

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo but Mama – Mama is a Different Story – Mama is a Big Bands Kinda Gal | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Papa Loves Mambo (Not really) | Alexia Jones

  8. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 80] Change it! | Never A Worry

  9. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Facing The Music” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

