Young at heart

Image

What are your thoughts on aging? How will you stay young at heart as you get older?

I am a firm believer in the saying “you are as young as you feel”. I feel like society puts a lot of pressure on people by telling us what we should have accomplished and by what age this is acceptable e.g. first kiss no later than 13, moving out after graduation and getting a steady job by 22, climbing the corporate ladder in your 20s so by the time you reach 30 you should be settled and ready to start a family (which would require you to meet your should mate at least a couple years before this). It all sounds great and before I ever acknowledged I was a fully fledged adult (only late last year!) the above example is what I envisaged as my road map…but then reality set in and I realised the unlikeliness as well as impracticality of these things happening to me within a scheduled timeframe…and also the fact that maybe I don’t prioritise the same things that society tells me I should prioritise at this point in my life.

I have always been a big kid at heart and I can’t see that changing any time soon. I should have known this when I was in my last years of school, making prank calls to people during lunch time and running around with a coconut we christened and drew a face on, instead of engaging in “adult” conversations relating to boys as some of my more “mature” classmates used to…as I look back on those final years of school, I realise everyone else was so obsessed with trying to seem older for their age that I actually thought that I was perhaps immature but now I realise it was in fact the opposite.

You may marvel at how I can remember this far back but when I was just five years old, I remember my mother watching the news as she always does in the evenings whilst I would be doing my homework and I remember thinking to myself “Will the news suddenly become more interesting to me when I become an adult?”…Almost 20 years later I am still wondering when news programmes will become more interesting to me…or if they ever will. It’s not that I don’t realise the importance of politics, taxes, finance and other such topics to our lives but my attention always seems to slip away when these come on air.

Ageing is something I try not to think about although my future is always on my mind but I never see myself as older in the future but rather think about what I might be doing and where. As a woman, the physical transformations that come with ageing are of more discomfort to me, encouraged by society’s view that we should be eternally young e.g. anti-aging cream adverts, as if ageing is negative.

My key to staying young at heart is by keeping the innocence and good nature that I’ve always had (thanks to my family who have instilled this in me) and lifting people’s spirits with lots of laughter. I am constantly surrounded by serious faces, whether it be in the metro or at work, and sometimes it’s good to laugh and act a bit silly. Life is too short to take yourself too seriously so let go and have fun, no matter what your age!

Inspired by Daily Prompt

x

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

Leave a Reply

