Sixteen Tons

How do you feel about your job? Do you spring out of bed, looking forward to work? Or, is your job a soul-destroying monotony of pure drudgery, or somewhere in between?

This is a really interesting topic for me to write about at the moment. I have had the best and worst experience of my budding professional career in the space of two years and there are definitely stark contrasts. I really don’t want to dedicate an entire blog post to how I feel about my current job as there are experiences to be gained from everything in life and as a generally upbeat person I try to look on the good side (emphasis on try!). Instead, I prefer to focus on what I hope to gain in my next venture. I am relatively new to the world of work and my first experience of working in an open plan office, 9 to 5, was an absolute treat. Not only was it a great atmosphere to work in (thanks to lovely colleagues) but I had a sense of purpose, was given heaps of responsibility and plenty of freedom to work on my own initiative. And although I was primarily behind a computer screen, I was able to put my writing skills to use and further develop them in terms of communicating with clients. My phone skills also greatly improved and I found myself really coming out of my shell. And when I was in face to face contact with clients, I shined. This made me realise that on the job front, I excel when in contact with others and enjoy roles where I am helping people, whether giving advice or passing on knowledge. I grew in confidence as I was given more tasks and learned to work under pressure,  realising that I am actually this relaxed all of the time! The feedback I received from colleagues and clients was extremely humbling as I made an impact with my friendly and upbeat attitude. Respect, trust and acknowledgement are perhaps aspects of work that we may take for granted but once these are absent in one’s role it becomes very easy to begin to feel demotivated, unconfident in oneself and ones abilities and can even begin to have an effect on ones mental health. A bad experience in the workplace can also leave you doubting your own abilities in moving to another role. I’m still not sure what the perfect job for me will be but I know it will give weight to the following: Respect, trust, acknowledgement, the opportunity to express my creativity, whether through written or visual and allow me to communicate with others and encourage/help/motivate them.

Inspired by Daily Prompt

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

14 responses to “Sixteen Tons

  1. Pingback: Loving your job! Bawdy Humour. Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  2. Great perspective for one so new to the job arena – grasping what you’ve already learned, what works well, where you shine, and understanding how much is still to come. Have a great work week!

  3. Pingback: School is my job (for now) | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: Occupational Contemplation | sherrylcook.com

  7. Pingback: You Grade 16 Tons and What Do You Get? | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  8. The topic sort of made me think that most people will write with a “jaded” perspective, but it was nice reading from someone just joining the workforce and who takes the positive instead of dwelling on the negatives. You are so lucky to be in one of my favorite cities — but luckier still to like the job you have…

    • Hi pinaynewyorker. Thanks a lot for your comment, I’m glad you liked the post! 🙂 I didn’t want this to be a ‘jaded’ post whatsoever (even though it would have been quite easy) but I’m lucky I have Paris to look to for creative and personal inspiration when needed! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Daily prompt: Work | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: When It Comes To Work There Should Be One Word Above All Others – Respect | lynnesartandsoul

  11. Pingback: It’s a living | Mindful Digressions

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  13. Pingback: I Love My Job | Knowledge Addiction

Leave a Reply

