Que Sera Sera

Image

Do you believe in fate or do you believe you can control your own destiny?

I am a big time believer in fate but I also believe that we can control our own destiny. Basically life is a mixture of fate and the willingness or effort we go to to make something happen. For example, this time last year I had my heart set on living in Paris. I had been called for an interview for a role in Paris but was then offered the role in New York. Whilst New York is obviously an amazing opportunity, my heart was never fully in it as I had always been in love with France and its language and culture and after studying it in college I just always assumed that’s where I would go straight after my studies. I was so nervous about going to New York that despite filling in all the necessary documentation, my visa eventually got delayed and I felt a sense of relief that I wouldn’t have to go so far away. As New York was then rescheduled for the following year, I became more adamant on improving my French while I was still in Dublin and attended language exchanges in the meantime and watched French TV and film. A few months after starting my role in Dublin, I had expressed my interest in being relocated to France the following year, if possible or incase there was any visa trouble for New York. A week later I was told that I could go to Paris the following year and was even put on a French course which only motivated me further for going to France. It was so surreal to me that this had even happened (although my Mam always told me that when you visualise things enough that you want to happen they eventually do become reality). This particular point in my life convinced me that if something is really meant to be, it will happen and it may not always happen when or in the way you expect it to but if you want it bad enough and take steps to make it happen (or just chance asking like I did) you will get to where you want to go.

This post was inspired by Daily Prompt

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

12 responses to “Que Sera Sera

  1. Pingback: Que Sera Sera | Alexia Jones

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt – Que Sera Sera | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: Fate Or Destiny Or Whatever? | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 85] מה יהיה יהיה (post is in English) | Never A Worry

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  6. Pingback: Life of Positivity | Views Splash!

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | My Atheist Blog

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Que Sera Sera | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Great post! I found your blog grâce à Sammy D. over at bemuzin.com. I am very much looking forward to reading about your adventures in Paris!

    jetgirlcos visiting via Forty, c’est Fantastique

  10. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – A Poetic Duet With A Shade Of Pen – “Destiny’s Kiss” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  11. Pingback: Destiny’s Kiss « A Shade Of Pen

Leave a Reply

