Salon du dessin contemporain 2014

Yesterday I went to the Salon du dessin contemporain or Drawing Now as it’s also called. For those who don’t know, it’s an art fair dedicated to contemporary art in the form of drawings and sketches. This is my favourite form of art but then again, I’m biased as this is the type of art I practise. This year was the 8th edition of the fair and took place in three different venues around the 3eme arrondissement. I went to two of those venues – le Carreau du Temple and les Espaces Commines. The exhibition space was much larger in le Carreau du Temple where there were two floors, showcasing a variety of different styles from international artists. Some pieces were highly intricate with an enormous level of detail (and time put into them) whilst others were childlike and imaginative. Others were intentionally humorous with one particular artist whose work comprised primarily of life like nude portraits of women (in various positions), they were so life like they could almost be mistaken for photographs. But then beside each woman there was a cartoon like creepy guy with his arm around them in each picture. The beauty of these young women being malled by a crudely drawn man (the artist’s take on himself)  was funny and startling to look at. Below are some of my favourites from the fair.Image

Can you believe this detail?

Image

Look at the skill!

Image

Image

Now this is what I can putting a post-it note to good use

Image

Image

Thought this one was particularly clever…each object is drawn in letters, making up the word for that object

Image

These figures are even more interesting to look at when cut out and placed side by side

The space in Espace Commines was smaller and dedicated to young artists. By that stage, I had a creative overload and had stopped taking pics but so far I am feeling more inspired and even did a little doodling earlier, in the spirit of spring time and all the cherry blossoms I’ve come across lately.

Image

Happy Sunday!

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

12 responses to “Salon du dessin contemporain 2014

  1. Thanks for taking me along on your tour. I enjoyed your selections of pieces, and your drawing could have hung on the wall with the others! I recently found another blogger who does “zen-tagging” – a detailed type of doodling, and that looked interesting too.

    • Hi Sammy 🙂 thanks so much for your kind words and encouragement, delighted you enjoy the blog! maybe you could link me to this “zen-tagging” blogger, sounds very interesting indeed!

      • Ooh I’ve lost her somewhere in my notes or “follow” list – it’s on my “to do” list to rummage her up again because I don’t want to lose track of her. I will let you know when I locate it (I used to be so organized until writing took over my life!). Also I met another blogger I want to hook you up with who is fluent in French and planning to visit France later this year. I’ve enjoyed her posts, and think you two would enjoy each other’s sites. I will forward her info to you in the next few days, and tell her about your blog as well.

  2. Hi – it’s me again. Chatty Sammy! I found the zen-tag blogger. She’s at http://www.alphabetsalad.com
    Have a look around her blog (she’s participating in A to Z Challenge so posts are slightly different than usual) because she has lots of examples of her tagging. I found some “how to” books on Amazon. It’s really just super-glorified pattern doodling, but looks like a lot of fun. Let me know if that link to her site doesn’t work.

  3. And here’s the blogger who speaks French, is soon to travel to France, AND has visited Ireland (as have I). Isn’t that great?!? Two new friends who love the countries I do and can carry me vicariously in your pockets as you explore. I’m giving her your blog address today. Be sure to reach out to her. You will enjoy her!
    http://fortyandfantastique.wordpress.com Her comments come in with an icon that says jetgirlcos, but that will be her. Let me know if you don’t find her.

Leave a Reply

