Saturday (and Sunday strolls)

The only thing better than a weekend in Paris is a bank holiday weekend in Paris. Three days to further explore this city which I am still getting to know in more detail.

Friday got the weekend off to a good start as we got to finish early so of course, with the sun shining, I let my feet guide me to les Jardins des Tuileries.

Image

Image

Image

 

On Saturday I decided to wander by La Defense and Neuilly sur Seine. This stroll was inspired by the previous weekend, where I took the bus to Beauvais to catch my flight home for a couple of days in Dublin. Whilst I wasn’t overexcited about a long trek out to the airport after a long day at work, I was pleasantly surprised by what I saw on the way. The bus took us from Porte Maillot and made it’s way by Neuilly sur Seine (the Blackrock of Paris), then out to La Defense, taking a turn to the right which brought us along a part of the Seine I hadn’t travelled before. Whatsmore the weather was gorgeous and I made a mental note to come back and venture by these parts when I would return.

Image

Image

Image

Doing just that, I got off at Pont de Neuilly metro stop (line 1) and walked up to La Defense (sneaked into Quatre Temps) for about an hour and continued strolling until I realised I was in Courbevoie!

Image

Luckily, the Eiffel Tower was in my eyeline and I eventually found my way back to the centre. However, completely missing the walking along the Seine part of my stroll, I returned again on Sunday, this time getting the metro to Porte Maillot and walking through the tree lined avenues of Neuilly sur Seine centre.

Image

Neuilly sur Seine town hall

Once I finally came to the Seine, I took a right and walked along, in the cool shade of the trees by the road side and eventually crossed over to the sunnier side and descended on to the river bank, taking in the rays.  

Image

To be continued…

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

2 responses to “Saturday (and Sunday strolls)

  1. Thanks so much for your valuable “insiders insight” 🙂

Leave a Reply

