Home again

I feel like every time I return to Paris after a visit home, my heart gets that bit heavier. I mean physically. I can feel it sink that closer to my stomach. It’s not that I don’t love it here but the time away from my family and friends is definitely the hardest. When I do get back to Ireland, it makes me appreciate it that bit more. Here’s a few things I miss about home (and a few shameless plugs to encourage ye all to visit)

IMG_20140510_003833

The sea – this is a particularly idyllic and tranquil spot in Laytown, Co. Meath

IMG_20140505_002435

The walk from Malahide to Portmarnock and back

20140504_192139

Portmarnock beach

IMG_20140505_002313

First time I’d seen starfish on the beach – there was a whole colony of them

IMG_20140505_002603

Scampi and chips from Beshoffs after a nice long stroll

IMG_20140509_205354

Finding the beauty in the simplest surroundings…so Drogheda is not Paris, but it came up nice when the sun eventually came out of hiding

IMG_20140509_210841

A walk around Drogheda (where I lived briefly as a child and don’t remember)

IMG_20140509_210715

The River Boyne (comes in third place after the Seine and the Liffey)

IMG_20140509_211445

Discovering new places in my own country (well not really “new”…Laurence’s Gate is a few hundred years old)

IMG_20140509_211058

Mini bite of Ireland – churches, rivers and rolling hills

20140506_165643

A scone and jam in my local cafe after a trip to the dentist 🙂

Have any of you ever been to Ireland? What do you like most about it?

Slan go foill!

About mizzdublin

Originally from Dublin and living in Paris just over 6 months now. I'm a free spirit, have a contagious laugh and love sketching and writing and hope to do more of this in the months to come

2 responses to “Home again

  1. Hi – i’m happy to hear from you again, and sorry for your pangs of missing home. Ireland is such a special place, and I can see by your photos that you have many places and foods that you cherish. What I liked most about my visit was how friendly the Irish people were to us, and how simple and unadorned was the stark beauty of the hillsides with the ancient stone walls.

    • Hey Sammy! I felt so bad for not posting in so long, so busy at the moment with work, assignments, job hunting, plus I just started running! thanks so much for your kind words, it’s lovely to hear that Ireland left an impression on you 🙂 I can’t lie, they do say we have the charm 😉

Leave a Reply

